top of page

The Nest Tables Debacle

Upcycling is as much about experimentation as it is about the final product!

I thought I'd quickly share with you the story of the Nest Table Debacle.

An upcycling friend of mine purchased a set of 3 nesting tables from Ebay without viewing them first. Turns out they were an absolute mess with huge chips in the paint, old glue stuck to the top and bits of tile on the surfaces. She was so irritated she was throwing them away.

In true furniture hoarding style I pilfered them from her - surely there was something I could do so they didn't end up as rubbish?

I scoured Pinterest for ideas and decided to try my hand at decoupaging with Napkins and Mod Podge. I mixed my own colour chalkpaint to try and compliment the girly colours in the napkin..and hours of work later became my biggest upcycle fail ever. They looked revolting.

Still determined to save the tables I painted over the purple with a toned down Graphite coloured chalk paint and decoupaged the tops of the tables with vintage sheet music. They looked OK in the end although not sure I will attempt decoupage again!!

Have your say!
Tag Cloud
No tags yet.
Blogs I Read
My Favourite Places
bottom of page